Vaishya Agarwal

Our community is known as Vaishya Agarwal Rajvansh community. It is made up of three words of historical importance and they are “Vaishya”, “Agarwal” and “Rajvansh”. To known about us in a better way it is necessary to first understand these three words.


In Hinduism there exist mainly four castes, Brahman, Kshatriyas, Vaishyas and Sudras. The religious word for caste is ‘Varna’.

Each Varna has certain duties and rights. Each Varna members have to work in certain occupation. In our religious Bhagavad Gita, according to occupation and qualities, these four Varnas are mentioned.

In the Bhagavad Gita, Ch.4, Verse 13
The Lord says:
“The fourfold caste has been created by Me
according to the differentiation of Guna and Karma;”

In the Bhagavad Gita, Ch.18, verse 40 the
Lord says:
“There is no being on earth, or again in heaven among the
gods, that is liberated from the three qualities born of Nature.”

Gita Ch. 18, V.41:
“Of Brahmanas, Kshatriyas and Vaishyas, as also the Sudras,
O Arjuna, the duties are distributed according to the qualities
born of their own nature.”

Varna whose members are the landlords and businessmen, are employed in agriculture  and the means of acquiring wealth, who is pure in behaviour and attends to the study of the Vedas, is called a Vaishya.

According to, THE MAHABHARATA, UDYOGA PARVA , a Vaishya should study and diligently earn and accumulate wealth by means of commerce, agriculture, and the tending of cattle.


Maharaja Agrasen

The Agrawals are descent from the legendary king Agrasen of Agroha. According to historians Maharaja Agrasen was Suryavanshi Kshatriya, born during the last stages of Dwapar Yuga. He was the eldest son of the King Ballabh of Pratapnagar. He decided to establish his new kingdom at that location named Agroha. Agroha became prosperous as agriculture and trade flourished. He formed the Agrawal Vaishya community.


S No. Gotra Original Gotra Lord Saint (Guru) Veda
1 Garg or Gargeya  Gargasya Pushpadev Gargacharya or Garg Yajurveda
2 Goyal, Goel or Goenka   Gomil Gendumal Gautam or Gobhil Yajurveda
3 Goyan, Goin, Goyanor or Gangal or Gol   Gautan Godhar Purohit or Gautam Yajurveda
4 Bansal   Vatsya Virbhan Vishist or Vatsa Samaveda
5 Kansal Kaushik Manipal Kaushik Yajurveda
6 Singhal or Singla Shandalya Sindhupati Shringi or Shandilya Samaveda
7 Mangal Maandav Amritsen Mudragal or Mandavya Rigveda / Yajurveda
8 Jindal Gemino Jaitrasangh Bruhaspati or Jaimini Yajurveda
9 Tingal or Tunghal Taandav Tambolkarna Shandilya or Tandya Yajurveda
10 Airan or Aeron Aurva Indramal Atri or Aaurva Yajurveda
11 Dharan or Deran Dhanyas Dhavandev Bhekaar or Ghaumya Yajurveda
12 Madhukul or Mudgal Mudgal Madhavsen Aashvalayanor Mudgal Rigveda / Yajurveda
13 Bindal or Vindal Vishist Vrinddev Yavasya or Vashista Yajurveda
14 Mittal Maitreya Mantrapati Vishwamitraor Maitreya Yajurveda
15 Tayal Taitireya Tarachand Saakal or Taitireya Yajurveda/Kri
16 Bhandal Dhoumya Vasudev Bhardwaj Yajurveda
17 Kuchhal, Kachal or Kuchchal Kashyap Karanchand Kush or Kashyap Samaveda
18 Naagil,Nangal or Nagal Naagend Narsev Kaudalya or Nagendra Samaved